friggolitenpk.blogg.se

Jag är en kvartssame som älskar att resa och dras till aktiva och turistfria ställen, eller Frankrike. Målet med mina resor är att uppleva lokalkulturen och nya äventyr och de får gärna innehålla utövande av sport. Jag reser ekonomiskt och transporterar mig oftast till fots.Jag har bl.a. varit au pair, jobbat i Norge, pluggat i Frankrike, backpackat i Thailand, Indien och Japan, Costa Rica och Panama och rest mycket i Europa.

Mysore english

Publicerad 2014-02-26 11:59:28 i Backpacking i Indien,


Mysore
Bye to Mangalore. On my way to the bus stand I still hadn't figured out where to go (backpacker points!). Payed four euros and set down in the Mysorebus. A local bus who barely made it up the hills and at every gear change it sounded like the bus would brake apart.
8h later, all in one piece, we arrived.

In new cities I always start to walk. I walk and walk until my backpack feels like stones and my body hurts. I always think that I will manage to find the hotel on my own without a map.
It always finishes with me getting angry and exhausted, I got lost or I meet dogs.

So in Mysore I took a rickshaw to avoid all that, alsl cause it was getting dark. I took the first one without even dealing about the price. The driver stopped on the way telling me about nice places where I should go instead. A real turist trap.

He waited in the lobby while I looked at a room, hoping to drive me somewhere else. About 4 euros, the cheapest room so far (in Mumbai I paid 50 euros..).
The room came without wifi, tv and with a squat toilet :O! But had to take it to get rid of the rickshaw man! Was so angry with Lonely Planet then!

I went out, looked at other hotels, wandered in the city, ate food from the street, saw the most beautiful palace which luckily was lightened up only at that hour I was there :)

Got back to the clean room of mine and didn't see any animals. Nice without a tv and I haven't slept so well in a long while :) Never judge by the first impression ;)

The centre of Mysore seems pretty big but is easy to orientate. Many of the streets are one-way (still very busy though). Many temples= many tourists= many vendours= :S.

Day two I met an indian who called me selfish and silly. Before that he saved me from a drunky who followed me, then he drove me around on the motorbike (so cliché now) to a nice nature where we meditated. Or, he did, I just sat in my too-tight-jeans-to sit-crossed-legs and thought about funnier things :)
But a nice break to get away.

He also showed good food, and payed the half!! Uncommon in India. Then we went to a hardrock bar. I tried to have fun, I tried to make the DJ play something else.
The Indian hadn't been drinking in two years. After half a beer he started to be rude.

Before all this I walked around in the city before 7 am! It was cold outside! Went to a green park.
Went with the bus (with digital signs) to a zoo. Sad for the animals as soon as I went in so shouldn't have sponsored them. But it looked like a good caring zoo and I was there for over 3h.
Continued later to Chamundi Hill. Nice view on the hill, but toooo many tourists (and logical: toooo many vendours).

Now on the way to a place that doesn't exist in my book...Ooty.


Only two weeks of travelling left in the south of India, so I can't waste the time. Have to make it good and change place if it's not good.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Frida

Jag är från Dalarna, bor nu i Stockholm och pluggar till socionom. Jag älskar träning, att upptäcka och att resa :D Jag har studerat i Normandie och varit au pair i Rhône Alpes, Frankrike, jobbat i Norge, backpackat i Asien och Centralamerika.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela